Honours and awards


and Awards

Staff and students from the University continue to be recognised nationally and internationally for their expertise.

↑Professor Gill Valentine (Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor) was named Diversity Champion for the education sector at the Excellence in Diversity Awards 2017.

Frank Brown (Catering Manager, 1970–83) received the Légion d’Honneur from the French Government for his outstanding military service on D-Day in June 1944. He served on board
torpedo boats in the English Channel and provided essential support to his fellow soldiers.

Professor Terry Callaghan (Animal and Plant Sciences) has been appointed a Companion of the Order of St Michael and St George for services to advancing knowledge and international collaboration in arctic science.

The Confucius Institute received the China Collaboration Prize at the Sheffield City Region Horasis China Business Awards.

Professor Chris Deery (Clinical Dentistry) has been appointed Chair of the Dental Schools Council.

Isabel Hyde (Biochemistry student) won the national Future of Science competition organised by RB (Reckitt Benckiser) with her idea of using aromas to compensate for a reduction of sugar and salt in food.

Dr Julie Hyde (PhD Organometallic Chemistry and Crystallography 1998) (Chemistry) won an Award for Service from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Imam Sheikh Mohammad Ismail (MEd Education 1995) (Multifaith Chaplaincy Service) has been appointed a Deputy Lieutenant of South Yorkshire.

Dr Matt Johnson (PhD Molecular Biology and Biotechnology 2007) (Molecular Biology and Biotechnology) received the Biochemical Society’s Colworth Medal for his outstanding research in biochemistry.

Professors Jackie Marsh (BA English Literature 1980, MEd Literacy 1998, PhD Education 2003) (Education) and Craig Watkins (Interim Vice President and Head of the Faculty of Social Sciences) have been appointed as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Ossila Ltd, a University spin-out company, received the Institute of Physics Business Innovation Award in recognition of its solar cell prototyping platform.

Patrick Stowell (PhD student) (Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group) received the John G Rutherglen Memorial Prize 2017 in recognition of his experimental particle physics research.

The efforts of 258 staff ensured that the University of Sheffield came first in the national Love to Ride Cycle Challenge; they covered 32,000 miles on their bikes throughout September 2017.

Professor Philip Warren (Animal and Plant Sciences) received the British Ecological Society’s President’s Medal.

Dr Elspeth Whitby (PG Cert Teaching and Learning for University Lecturers 2003, PhD Medicine 2007) (Oncology and Metabolism) received the Distinguished Service Medal from
the British Institute of Radiology.

Home Back to top