Honorary degrees



Chancellor the Rt Hon Lady Justice Rafferty DBE with Dorothy Byrne.

The University of Sheffield confers honorary degrees (or degrees honoris causa – as a ‘mark of honour’) on people who have given distinguished service or brought distinction to the University, the City of Sheffield or the region. Alumni who received honorary degrees from the University in 2018:

Dorothy Byrne (PG Dip Business Studies 1974, Hon LittD 2018): Head of News and Current Affairs at Channel 4.

Dr Francis Froes (MMet Physical Metallurgy 1963, PhD Physical Metallurgy 1967, Hon DEng 2018): scholar in the field of titanium science and technology.

Brian Gilvary (BSc Mathematics 1983, Hon DSc 2018): Chief Financial Officer and Director of BP.

Agnes Grunwald-Spier MBE (MA Holocaust Studies 1998, Hon LittD 2018): author and historian committed to raising Holocaust awareness.

Andy Haldane (BA Accounting, Financial Management and Economics 1988, Hon LittD 2018): Chief Economist and Executive Director of Monetary Analysis, Research and Statistics at the Bank of England.

Dr Bernard Johnston (BEng Civil and Structural Engineering 1965, PhD Civil and Structural Engineering 1974, Hon DEng 2018): educator and industrial engineer.

Dr Lowell Lewis (MBChB Medicine 1976, Hon MD 2018): Chief Medical Officer of Montserrat.

Lucy Nickson (PG Dip Management and Leadership 2011, Hon MD 2018): management expert within the health and charity sectors in the region.

Ann Sansom (BA English Literature 1994, Hon LittD 2018) and Peter Sansom (Hon LittD 2018): distinguished poets and Directors of The Poetry Business, the Sheffield-based poetry publisher and writer development agency.

For further information on how to nominate someone for an honorary degree, please contact Claire Rundström, Head of Alumni Relations, email: c.e.rundstrom@sheffield.ac.uk

Home Back to top